Contact Us: 1800 875 371 |
Log in to Portal
Bushfire Protection Measures 2016-10-20T11:43:54+00:00

Bushfire Protection Measures

The Building Code of Australia in Part G5 Construction in Bushfire Prone Areas specifically calls up in clause G5.1 Application of Part, for all Class 2 or 3 buildings, Class 10a buildings and decks associated with a Class 2 or 3 buildings to comply with this part when located in a designated bushfire-prone area. (Note: Some states variations include other classes of buildings). Bushfire protection measures will become an essential safety measure.

Building Code of Australia

Bushfire protection measures are stipulated in BCA clause G5.2 for a building permit. This clause requires buildings to be constructed in a designated bushfire prone area to comply with AS 3959-2009 Construction of buildings in bushfire-prone areas. A designated bushfire-prone area means land which has been designated under a power of legislation as being subject, or likely to be subject to bushfires and requires bushfire protection measures. This is a very extensive standard and designers, building surveyors/ building certifiers and builders need to be conversant with all bushfire protection measures in its provisions.

The following is a part extract of clause I1.1 for an Essential Safety Measure (as appeared in BCA 2013) known as bushfire protection measures:

Table I1.12 Safety Measures – Other Measures

Safety Measures BCA Provision for Determining Standard of Performance
Bushfire protection measures G5.2

Essential Safety Measures Audit – Bushfire Protection Measures

A building surveyor/ certifier will nominate in the essential safety measures determination/ schedule those conditions on bushfire protection measures which form an¬†essential safety measure that will require either inspection, testing or maintenance to ensure fire safety compliance. An auditor should nominate non-conforming bushfire protection measures issues in the building’s essential safety measures logbook to allow for signing the Annual Statement, Annual Certificate of Compliance, Annual Fire Safety Statement, Annual Maintenance Statement and Annual Occupiers Statement.